Psychologist Brisbane - How To Know It Is Grief, Not Depression?

in Stage

Grief and clinical tend to share a number of symptoms. This is complicated by the fact that pro-longed grief can eventually lead to depression. The main difference between grief and depression lies in the ability to experience and express other emotions. A person with grief will at times have and express the emotions of happiness or pleasure. The person might even laugh at a witty comment. However with someone suffering from depression, experiencing pleasure is beyond them. The individual is perpetually by feelings of emptiness and despair.

How to determine the stages of the grieving process

The grieving process can be more or less defined in a sequence of five stages. These stages can be use in determining whether an individual is through with grieving or not. The stages are:

i.   Denial

This is usually the first reaction that is expressed in most people facing the death of a loved one. In the denial stage the individuals is not willing to accept the death. Some people even come up with absurd explanations for the absence of the deceased.

ii. Bargaining

The bargaining stage arises when the bereaved finds it unbearable to face the future without the deceased. The individual might try to make a pact with God, asking for God to undo the death. At this point the reality of the reality of the death has begun to set in.

iii. Anger

In some individuals the sudden death of a loved one can cause intense feelings of anger. This anger is primarily directed at the deceased. This anger can also be directed towards other family members, doctors, nurses and God. This emotional state can last for years.

iv. Depression

The bereaved arrives at this stage after realizing that nothing can be done to bring the deceased back. The bereaved person is unable to imagine life without the loved one which removes all the fun out of life. Self-isolation is common at this stage. This stage can persist for an infinite period of time

v. Acceptance

Eventually the bereaved realizes that life has to continue regardless of the death. At this point the individual will emerge from seclusion and make attempts to go back to a normal routine.

It is worth noting that some people might fail to go through all five stages and yet emerge stronger from the experience. Others might get stuck at one stage and fail to move to any other stage. For instance an individual might slide into chronic depression. In such instances professional help should be sort. If you happen to live in Waterford, Loganholme, Slacks Creek, Waterford West or Edens Landing look for a psychologist Brisbane. Brisbane is bound to have a large number of psychiatrists.



Author Box
Faisal Farrukh has 92 articles online and 41 fans

In mental health or psychology, it is extremely important to rightly diagnose the problem a person is facing. For ordinary people that chances are extremely high that they will diagnose their problems in incorrect ways, thus lead to other consequences. This is why a psychologist Brisbane is essential for you to help you get rid of the situation.

Add New Comment

Psychologist Brisbane - How To Know It Is Grief, Not Depression?

Log in or Create Account to post a comment.
Security Code: Captcha Image Change Image
Related searches:

Psychologist Brisbane - How To Know It Is Grief, Not Depression?

This article was published on 2012/08/27